Paddy Reilly: Discography
The Gold and Silver Days

image image
  • The Gold And Silver Days
    • 1991 - RTÉ RTE-144 CD
    • 1991 - Rego RCD-3950 CD (USA)
    • 2000 - Brook Records BRCD2010 CD
    • 2003 - Celtic Collections BRCD2010 CD
    • 2010 - RMG (Digital)
  • CD One
    1. The Gold & Silver Days (Coulter)
    2. Dirty Old Town (MacColl)
    3. Rose of Mooncoin
    4. Festival of Galway - w/The Dubliners
    5. Leaving Nancy (Bogle)
    6. Scorn Not His Simplicity (Coulter)
    7. Safe in the Harbor (Bogle) - w/The Fureys
    8. The Emigrant's Letter
    9. Raglan Road (Kavanagh)
    10. Slievenamon
    11. Town I Loved So Well (Coulter)
  • CD Two
    1. Song for Ireland (Colclough) - w/Jim McCann
    2. The Wild Rover - w/The Dubliners
    3. Kilty - w/The Fureys
    4. The Fields of Athenry (St. John)
    5. The Gartan Mother's Lullaby
    6. Flight of Earls (L. Reilly)
    7. Working Man (McNeill)
    8. The Dublin Minstrel (O'Donoghue)
    9. Neidin (McCarthy)
    10. Rare Ould Times (St. John) - w/The Dublin City Ramblers
    11. Heaven Around Galway Bay
    12. Dublin, My Dublin (P. Reilly)
    13. Isle of Inisfree (Farrelly)
    14. When New York Was Irish (Winch) — Bonus Track

  • Musicians
    • Acoustic Guitars: Des Moore, Eamonn Campbell
    • Double Bass: John Drummond
    • Piano/Keyboards: Chris Kenevey
    • String Section Leader: Alan Smale
    • Mandolin: Eamonn Campbell
    • Flute: Liz Gaffney
    • Oboe: Peter Heeley
    • 5 String Banjo: John Delaney (The Barleycorn)
    • Whistles & Fiddle: John Sheahan (The Dubliners)
    • Uileann Pipes: Finbar Furey
    • Vocal Backing: John Drummond, Pat Reilly, Mary Hilary
    • "Working Man" With The Voice Squad (Phil Calory, Jerry Cullen, Fran McPhail)
    • Accordion: Noel Healy & Paul Furey
  • Credits
    • Produced & Arranged by Eamonn Campbell, except for …
      • "The Gold The Silver Days" — Produced and Arranged by Phil Coulter
      • "Dublin, My Dublin" — Produced and Arranged by Bill Whelan
      • "Rose Of Mooncoin" — Arranged by Johnny Tate
      • "Isle Of Innisfree" & "Dublin Minstrel" — Arranged by John Drummond
    • Engineer: Bill Somerville-Large
    • Assistant Engineer. Lorcan Keogh
    • Recorded At Westland Studios
    • Executive Producer: Brian Molloy
    • Photography: Ronnie Norton Studios
  • Track Notes
    • "When New York Was Irish" is only included on the 2000 and after reissues..

Sleeve Notes

There are some songs which, though they may be almost contemporary, quickly find their way into the canon of traditional music. "THE FIELDS OF ATHENRY" by Pete St. John and "THE TOWN I LOVED SO WELL" by Phil Coulter are now as much part of our folk heritage as "DANNY BOY".

This is due almost single handedly to one man. Paddy Reilly has the incomparable gift of taking a new song and making it sound as if we have known it all our lives.

On this double album, the twenty five years which Paddy Reilly has spent singing to audiences all over the world are celebrated by twenty four Golden tracks covering those eventful years.

Paddy is joined on the album by special guests The Dubliners, The Fureys, Dublin City Ramblers and Jim McCann. Eight of Paddy's classic songs are included, specially rerecorded, along with seventeen new titles, which make this the definitive Paddy Reilly album.

The title track "The Gold & Silver Days" is a new song specially written for Paddy's 25th anniversary by his friend Phil Coulter and I bet that, within months, we will hear it sung in pubs and parties all over Ireland.

Paddy Reilly can do that with a song!

Cathal McCabe (Head Of Music RTE)