Paddy Reilly: Discography
The Fields Of Athenry

image image
  • The Fields of Athenry
    • 1982 - Dolphin DOLX 9002 LP
    • 1984 - Ritz RITZLP0027 LP
    • 2002 - Dolphin DOCDX 9002 CD
      • The 2002 CD includes 1 extra track.
    • 2005 - Dolphin DOLCD 205 CD
    • 2009 - Celtic Airs/The Orchard (Digital)
      • The 2005 CD & the Digital releases included 5 "bonus tracks".
  • The Paddy Reilly Trilogy - Legends of Irish Folk
  • Side One
    1. Fields of Athenry
    2. Farewell to Nova Scotia
    3. The Galtee Mountain Boy
    4. Farewell to the Rhonda
    5. John O' Dreams
  • Side Two
    1. Scorn Not His Simplicity
    2. The Crack was 90 in the Isle of Man
    3. Dancing at Whitsun
    4. Mulligan & Me
    5. Jim Larkin
    6. Bunch of Thyme
  • Bonus Tracks:
    1. Beautiful Dreamer
    2. Champion At Keeping Them Rolling
    3. Farewell To Dublin
    4. Paddy's Green Shamrock Shore
    5. Only Our Rivers Run Free

  • Track Sources & Notes:
    • Tracks: 1, 5, 6 & 11 are previously un-released album tracks.
      • Tracks: 6 & 11 were single releases in 1981 (Dolphin DOS 156)
      • Tracks: 1 & 5 were single releases in 1982 (Dolphin DOS 169)
    • Tracks: 2-4, 7, 8, 10, 14 & 15 are from Green Shamrock Shore: 1980 - Dolphin DOLM 5040 LP
    • Tracks: 12, 13 & 16 are from The Old Refrain: 1984 - Dolphin DOLX 9003 LP
      • Track: 12 is added to the 2002 (DOCDX 9002) CD release.
      • Tracks: 12-16 are "bonus tracks" on the 2005 CD & the Digital releases
    • The Legends of Irish Folk Trilogy doesn't contain any of "bonus tracks".

Sleeve Notes

It has been said by eminent historians, both at home and abroad, that Ireland's greatest export has been its people. When one examines Ireland's troubled past, this comment can be seen to contain a greater degree of truth than might at first be apparent.

Before the infamous Great Famine which tore the country apart in body, soul and mind, the population of Ireland was many times greater than it is now.

But fate, added to our misery by causing vast numbers of our people to take the various emigrant and transportation ships from the land of their heart's desire to the lands of opportunity and survival. Many others as a result of non payment of rent or petty thievery were sent away in "prison ships" to Australia where they served out their sentences.

But before they reached those foreign shores they endured the living hell of overladen and diseased-ridden vessels on dangerous storm-tossed seas.

There is one point on this record when Paddy Reilly reaches back to that era of pain and poverty and expresses with poignancy and heartfelt emotion the plight of those who left the shamrock shore, when in the Fields of Athenry, he sings "Nothing really matters when you're free."

In many ways that line alone sums up the history of Ireland Paddy Reilly's voice is the voice of every emigrant who ever left Ireland in search of a freedom not to be found in their native land.

With his unique voice Paddy Reilly's performance on this album demonstrates quite clearly why he is Ireland's best folk & ballad singer.